Switching Gears (and Raiding Mains)


So it’s been a few months since I transferred my shaman over to Medivh to become my raiding main.  With two resto druids on our healing team, I just felt it would be more fair to bring a non-competitive class.  Not that our team would devolve into loot drama at all, but I felt like I was taking loot from our other resto druid and I didn’t want to do that.

Anyhoo! I transferred my little 81 shaman, Reura, from Misha-US to Medivh-US.  I had to change her name since it was /gasp already taken!  I chose a name that was Scottish as it seems (I AM SO NOT AN RPer PLEASE DON’T STONE ME) dwarves take after Scottish or Gaelic naming sounds/conventions.

Reura became Marsaili.

In truth, I’m glad I had to do the name change. Reura was an enhancement draenei shaman I created in The Burning Crusade and when she became a dwarf, it really was like she was a different character. She was no longer the prancing, /train hollering draenei she used to be.  She’s now a short, sometimes crotchety, giggling dwarf.

But changing my character’s name was just a necessary, cosmetic change. Altering my healing style became a completely different story.

Switching between HoT-style healing and direct clump-style healing has really thrown my cognitive abilities for a loop.  I thankfully had started another resto shaman a couple of months ago and had leveled her to about 65 before transferring Marsaili to Medivh.  So I understood the utter basics — Earth Shield, Riptide, alt-tab to Zappos.com …. :|a Okay, that works until about level 40. Or whenever Chain Heal becomes available. (Just kidding!)

With Lizzia, I was used to moving and throwing HoTs at the same time.  I could run and roll up a full stack of Lifebloom at the same time as the tank was running to smack the dragon in the face.  With Marsaili… Things are a bit different. Namely, having to stand still to toss my heals. I have, however, adjusted quite well and remember to remain standing until the cast bar is gone (there’s some technicality with this; I can begin moving when the cast is close to being done thanks to latency time). And now that I’ve grown accustomed to shaman healing, I feel like I have lost my “touch” with druid healing.

I hopped on Lizzia back during Brewfest to kill Coren Direbrew and I realized that I have forgotten a few things about druid healing! (It also didn’t help that my raid frames weren’t showing my HoTs!) I actually flailed a little bit.  But I guess that’s part of the transition — you learn some new skills and forget some old skills.  I’m okay with that.  I know that if asked, I could pick up Lizzia and be ready to go in about 30 minutes.

But I sure am enjoying healing on my shaman. Although we have progressed far enough in Firelands that my mastery is almost useless compared to the other healers’ masteries, I still love being able to bring someone from the brink of death to about 80% health. I am also enjoying the rhythm of shaman healing as it currently stands with the Tidal Waves waltz. There have been some fights in the Firelands that have made me almost tear my hair out, but through it all, I am enjoying my shaman even more than I have in the past.

For all of the issues we have currently (check out Vixsin‘s response to the Blizzard class feedback survey) and some other issues we may yet face when Patch 4.3 rolls out, I really find shaman healing more engaging than the other three healers.

I am proud and excited to say I am a Resto shaman.

P.S. I also want to thank my Guild Leader, Snack, for being understanding of my need to change as well as all of Waypoint for their support of my “new” class. <3

Leave a Reply

