Q&A: How I Shaman Heal


After posting how I heal on my shaman to our guild forums, my GM and Raid Leader had a few good questions. I wanted to share both his questions and my responses, for funsies. :)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Answering Snack’s questions:
Q: Firstly, I had no idea that SLink totem was also a damage reduction buff – and it lasts the entire duration of the totem itself?
A: It does; keep in mind the short duration of the totem, though, at only 6 seconds. I wish they’d increase it’s duration to at least 12 seconds.

Q: I didn’t know much beyond Mana Tide totem other than it worked like Hymn of Hope – it seemed like something we might want to pair? Or, perhaps, to stagger on top of each other? It seems like something we could probably coordinate very well to work for maximum mana regen, on the longer more drawn out fights (Ragnaros? Possibly Deathwing?) or something else entirely?
A: I think there could be synergy between MTT and HoH. We will have to play around to see (testing in combat would be pretty easy I think?) I’m not sure of the duration of HoH, but it seems MTT is also a short cooldown. It used to be based on my amount of Spirit, but I don’t think it’s this way anymore (Shaman used to stack Spirit to be the “Mana Battery” back in Wrath).

Q: I’m very jelly of your ability to decurse AND dispel. ;~;
A: Isn’t it great? I try to dispel as much as possible, but Cleanse Spirit can drain me if I’m not careful (cost is 14% of base mana)

Q: What sort of things do you do to manage your abilities, since shaman seem to have nine million totems to manage on top of their heals, buffs, shocks, etc?
A: Do you mean in terms of UI? I have been using both the default UI and recently RealUI. I really like RealUI as it shows my Tidal Waves buff.

Q: Is there a particular reason you use Flame Shock over the other ones?
A: I use Flame Shock since it does damage (trying to be helpful for the raid). Frost Shock is more PVP oriented (it slows the target), but I could use that on trash (aren’t most bosses immune to snares/slows?). Earth shock doesn’t do as much damage since I’m resto.

Q: Do you try and use Telluric Currents during lulls in damage to keep a regen flowing in the midst of battle? (ex., Shannox, post Rageface, pre-burn?)
A: I try, but as I mentioned above, it’s often a decision between spending the mana on Lightning Bolt hoping I gain that plus more back OR casting a Healing Wave. My regen is decent enough that I can pretty much cast Healing Wave consistently throughout combat (but it’s not sustainable for a tough fight as HW does not do enough healing to overcome some damage).

Q: Also, I note Ancestral Healing/Ancestral Fortitude and it sounds an awful lot like my Divine Aegis, which seems really cool!
A: Ancestral Fortitude is a great buff — I try to cast a GHW to get it going on the tank.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you have any questions for me, hit me up in the comments or on Twitter @_Lizzia!

 

3 thoughts on “Q&A: How I Shaman Heal

  1. I have raid healed in Wrath with shammy, disc priest and druid, and even fail pally healed too. Now, in Cataclysm, I’ve healed with the priest and shaman in five mans. The shaman is the only one I want to raid heal with, and the one I most love to heal with.

    We are so versatile in our utility. I’m a TBC-HYBRID-FOREVER-MEANS-UTILITY player at heart, and I love that we can interrupt spells, cleanse&decurse friends, Purge magic buffs from enemies. I just love it. Mobility complaints be damned.

    I do use frost shock to slow the hounds in firelands, when I can spare the mana. I also drop earthbind totem to slow adds that spawn, too.

    • I think shamans bring a lot to the metaphorical table as well as sometimes-competitive healing throughput. I think we’re about the same to paladins in terms of mobility and that’s just fine for me. My strengths as a healer are AOE heals and mitigation (through Earth Shield, Ancestral Fortitude, and SLink). Plus it’s just great fun. :D

      Thanks, too! <3

Leave a Reply

