Gmail Account Compromised


© All rights reserved by radiomaru at Flickr

So a few weeks ago I noticed the red alert notification on my Gmail inbox saying that something fishy happened. I looked at the data and it was a Chinese IP address. I thought for about 5 minutes that, “Hay, that’s a little fishy” then immediately forgot (because I have a short attention span >.>).

Well, today I received an email from Blizzard (yes, I checked the header information) and it seems legit. Apparently, some Chinese person named “Zhang” used my email address to sign up for a gold farming account. So I downloaded all of my Google account data and deleted that account.

Don’t worry, it’s not the end of the world. But some things here will be changing slowly as I move my Google-related services to a different account.

Thanks for your patience!!

5 thoughts on “Gmail Account Compromised

    • See, the whole reason I freaked out is because I *WAS* using that authentication system. And the hacker *STILL* got in.

      I don’t click links in shady emails (I actually look at the link first). I don’t go to shady websites. I was using Windows 7 and AVG Free Antivirus (with all the other associated things) and have never had a virus or any other quarantined files.

      The Google authentication is more of a hassle than a safety net, in all honesty.

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  1. See, the whole reason I freaked out is because I *WAS* using that authentication system. And the hacker *STILL* got in.

    I don’t click links in shady emails (I actually look at the link first). I don’t go to shady websites. I was using Windows 7 and AVG Free Antivirus (with all the other associated things) and have never had a virus or any other quarantined files.

    The Google authentication is more of a hassle than a safety net, in all honesty.

    Thanks for stopping by! :)

    • True enough, I used the authenticator at one point, and also for Rift and WoW, but good luck to me if my phone goes out of battery, which does happen quite a bit :/ It is indeed a hassle.

  2. Oh man, that Rift authenticator was SUCH a hassle. I have a keyfob WoW authenticator and I don’t think that is actually as much of a hassle. Possibly because WoW only requires 6 digits whereas Rift required like… 8. >:|

Leave a Reply

