[Update] Circle of Healing Questionnaire!


Laerith over at Totemic Grace has tagged me to fill out the Circle of Healing Questionnaire (developed by Miss Medicina)!  It’s quite an honor to be tagged — I still feel like an “outsider” to the world of WoW Bloggers and especially the Healer niche.

[Update] Check out all the other responses to this questionnaire here. And be sure to read OrvilliusTank Questionnaire!

It has taken me a really long time (i.e., the ENTIRE TIME I’VE BEEN PLAYING) to realize that I am a healer, deep down.  Doesn’t matter which role I’m playing..DPS, Tank, or Healer.. I am *constantly* checking health bars and have been known to throw out an instant Flash Heal while pally tanking.  I just can’t. Stop. Healing.

The purpose of this questionnaire is to get a wide perspective of healing — 25-man, 10-man, 5-man, and PVP situations.  It’s also neat to see how others feel about their classes and healing in general.

Shall we?

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?

My main healer is Lizzia, the Resto Druid of Medivh-US. (She’s probably logged out in her LOLCat gear/spec =^.^=)

What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

I’ve only been healing “for real” since about March/April 2011.  I’ve always wanted to try Druid healing and so I transferred my Druid to Medivh, checked out RestoDruid.info and here I am.  I have had Lizzia since Wrath (2009 I think) but leveled her feral/balance.  I’ve also got an 85 Priest (whom I don’t play ;~;), and an 81 Paladin that I healed/tanked with in Wrath. Up until this year, I’ve only healed 5-man dungeons/heroics.

Currently, I heal in 10-man raids and 5-man dungeons.  I used to do quite a bit battleground healing and really enjoy it (when I’m in with a good group!), but I haven’t done that in awhile.

What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?

Right now it’s Regrowth!  Since Druids now have a new mastery, Harmony, Regrowth is one of our best spells.  It’s considered a direct heal for the purposes of the mastery but it also provides a HoT effect. It’s like killing two birds with one stone!

What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?

Oh Nourish. Why do I forsake you? Because OoC procced Healing Touches are just damn better. :}

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?

Mobility for one thing! I often forget that I have to stand still to heal on my Paladin and Shaman. ;~;

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?

Burst healing, for sure. Regrowth is a somewhat adequate “band-aid” of sorts for small chunks of incoming damage, but if there’s someone taking consistent (within, say, 10 secs) damage in 30-40K chunks, I don’t feel that Druids are the best healers in that situation.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?

While I can’t answer this from a 25-man environment (since I don’t raid 25m), I can answer from a 10-man environment.  And my answer may not even make sense, but here we go…

I’ve realized over the last few raids that I am probably more competent at tank-healing than raid healing.  Could be because focusing on a single target for a fight than 7-9 is easier.  Given my ability for tank healing, I would say that the best healing assignment for me is raid healing.  My rationalization is that I’m already good at tank healing.. I need to work on raid healing.  I’m getting better, but I need to work on it.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?

My Druid! This is a mixture of my knowing this class the best, having the most varied healing experience with this class and just generally enjoying playing my Druid.

I like being able to heal on the run (literally!), shifting into a form for Super Awesome Heals™, and the nature-y feel of the class.

Similarly, I’m also really digging the spell animations for the Resto Shaman spells… That bluish color of the watery effects are seriously my favorite-ish color! SO PRETTY.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?

Hrmmm :|a That’s a tough question.  I’ve played each healing class at least up to level 50, so I’ve been able to see what the bare bones/basics are of each.  As such, I’d probably say (THIS IS NOT A COP-OUT OKAY) that I dislike aspects of each class, but I wouldn’t say I dislike healing with any of them.

Let me explain by discussing what I see as “cons” of each healing style:

Priest – Too many tools.  In a pinch, I get frustrated easily by having to think too much about which spell to use. Priests are the most versatile healers, but for me, too much choice leads down a long, deadly road.

Druid – Not enough burst healing (as I mentioned above).

Paladin – Opposite problem of Priests, Paladins have a very limited toolbox and that can get boring.

Shaman – (I haven’t played a level 85 Resto Shaman yet, so consider this disclaimered and uberqualified) Lots of lengthy cast times (I’m lookin at you, Healing Wave!) to contend with.

What is your worst habit as a healer?

By far, my worst habit is trying to keep everyone topped off.  I just can’t help it.  I learned to heal (for real) during Wrath and it’s a very hard habit to break.

My other bad habit is not letting my HoTs do their work!  My first healers were a Priest and Paladin and so I’m still not used to letting a HoT tick. /shame

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?

I think this has been mentioned by some other bloggers, but lack of communication.  There’s little more frustrating that healers tripping all over each other.  Tell me what I need to do and don’t assume I know what you want me to do. It’s pretty simple.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well-balanced with other healers for PvE healing?

Generally, yes.  Do I feel this way because Druids are really awesome right now? Mebbe… :>

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?

World of Logs and Recount/Skada.  I typically have Recount set to “Current Fight” and check my spell usage/overhealing amounts to see how I’m doing.  I’ve recently found Jasyla’s Guide to Evaluating Healers with World of Logs and that has been a tremendous help, considering I’m new to raiding and, actually, healing.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?

Hrmmm I can only speak from a non-85 perspective as a DPS running a dungeon with a leveling Resto Druid:

People think Druids can heal through anything because they’ve heard how OP Druids are.  While Druid healing results in tremendous throughput (heals coming out; heals sustained over time), that doesn’t mean that Druids are able to quickly save some igit who won’t move out of the bad.  Aside from Regrowth (mana-intensive), Tranquility (bad to blow on one stupid person) and Nature’s Swiftness, Druids really aren’t that good at saving people.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?

Let the HoTs do their work!  Don’t clip it!  Take a breath!

If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?

Total Overhealing about ~27-30%; General Total Healing Done ~25-32%;  HPS ~9K-14K… All depending on the fight’s mechanics, how tired I am, if Rezznul’s baby is healing for him and totally smoking the rest of us… *

*True story: One time, in BWD at Magmaw, Rezznul was in charge of calling out Pillar of Flame.  During the fight just seconds before a Pillar of Flame was about to hit, we heard over Vent what sounded like a baby cheering.  Then Visper (Raid Leader Extraordinaire/Guild Master of Waypoint) said, “YOU HEARD THE BABBY! MOVE IT.”  That’s how we roll up ins, y’all. Babby can heal Magmaw.

Haste or Crit and why?

HASTE OM NOM NOM. Haste gives us Druids extra ticks on our HoTs.  And that’s delicious.

What healing class do you feel you understand least?

I would have to say Shaman.  I just haven’t extensively played a Resto Shaman until recently (yay! Cathrynis is now 54!). I hope to change this, however, because I am really enjoying the Shaman playstyle and utility.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?

I use VuhDo for raid frames and mouseover macros for healing.  My macros look like this:

#showtooltip
/cast [@mouseover,help]Regrowth;[help]Regrowth;Regrowth

I have also used the default raid frames and Blizzard Raid Frame Indicators/Icons.  This was a pretty good setup.  The reason I switched to VuhDo was for the added non-frame pieces:  Buffwatch, Smartrez for out of combat Reviving, and the ability to adjust the size of the raid frames.

Now that Blizzard has added additional customization (although no extra sizing capabilities, poo!) to the default raid frames, I’ll probably give them a try  again.

Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?

I’ll be honest – Ever since Ask Mr. Robot came out for Android, I have been using that to help me make stat decisions.  I know what the basic goals are for the various stats (2K Spirit, 12.5% Haste, ~16%+ Mastery) and I aim for those in a balanced way.  I value throughput higher than utility (because, well, druids aren’t utility healers), so I balance my stats to achieve a high throughput goal.  It seems to be working well so far! :D

Tag You’re It! (The Guildie Edition)

@RezznulRed Noob Diaries

@Snack_RoadThe Dungeon Runner

@Outbirk

3 thoughts on “[Update] Circle of Healing Questionnaire!

    • Sure thing! It was a great read, informative and I’m glad to see the questionnaire expanded beyond healers. :D

Leave a Reply

