Day 11: My Bad Habits and Flaws


Oh bad habits and flaws!  I have a few brown spots on the shiny apple that is my personality.  I try to not let them get the best of me (mostly), but it’s a constant struggle.  At least I recognize them, right?  Halfway there…

Bad Habits
Over-analysis – I tend to think too much about.. well, everything.  To me, there’s always another side of things to see and explore.  Part of my education is policy analysis and policy people are notorious for overthinking.  Look at Congress.  Over-analysis usually bites me in the ass about 70% of the time, so I try to maintain a motto of “Less is more; Simpler is usually better.”  In relation to WoW, the most obvious way my “Paralysis by Analysis” comes out is trying to figure out the most efficient way to get from Point A to Point B.  I check the flight path map and my quests.. and the map again… Yet I end up flying to the wrong place.  Sometimes I’m okay at just going with the flow and K.I.S.S. implementation.  I also usually end up stopping what I’m doing and giving myself the “Simple Pep Talk” — “No Liz, just calm the frick down!” >.>

Lack of Confidence in My Own Expertise – Related to overthinking, I have a bad habit of not having confidence in my own skills.  I’m a pretty good healer (so my guild says), but when things to bad my first reaction is “Oh man, if only I had…” or “If I didn’t/did this one thing…”  I have gotten better about squelching this initial reaction, taking a deep breath after a wipe and seriously trying to figure out what happened.  Taking a scientific approach to raid wipes has really helped cement in my little pea-brain that it’s not always my fault.

Tunnel Vision – Yeap.  I get it all too often (for my own liking).  Then I end up in the other dimension during Twin Dreggins.  >.>  It’s gotten a lot better since I used Mik’s Scrolling Battle Text to shove my combat text out a bit from the center.  Experience with fights will also, hopefully, lead to less tunnel vision.  Maybe.  Right?

Other Bad Habits

  • Biting my nails
  • Picking at my nail polish
  • Cursing in public
  • Letting my temper get the best of me (E.g., Road rage at tailgaters)
  • Throwing away things that should probably be kept (or kept a few more days)

Flaws
The Fatal Flaw – Taking It Personally – I sure do.  I know I do.  I can see myself doing it.  And I cringe.  Like this.  Over the years I have seen this behavior in my mom, so I at least know where I learned it.  I’m not really sure what to say about it other than I know I do it and I try hard to recognize when I am taking something personally.  Now, I don’t take criticism personally.  Or really even stuff like a smartass.  Raid wipes?  Raid wipes?  Yep.  Player death (like, when I was in the middle of casting a heal on them)?  Sure do.  My husband never putting any-gorram-thing in the hamper but next to the hamper on the floor? WHY DOES HE DO THAT TO ME?

Right and Wrong – I firmly believe in Right and Wrong (and some Grey Area) on a principle basis.  I also believe that people who are being mean, rude, cruel and nasty are Wrong.  And they can’t be allowed to continue being Wrong.  In the case of a jerks in a pick-up group, I am very quick to just bail.  I realize that as a healer dropping groups abruptly can leave other players in the lurch (this is why I have this whole aspect of my personality under “Flaws”).  But I will not tolerate assholes.  I’m also horrible at debating anything ever, so I also try to not engage trolls* or assholes in debate regarding their awful behavior.  I will call them out on itbefore dropping group, though, with a simple “Hey, I don’t want to play with a bunch of funsuckers/racists/sexists/homophobes/epeen strokers. See ya!”  ;~;

 *I will, however, engage in fun pursuits with Trolls with a capital T (especially of the Darkspear variety. Dey cool, mon!).

One thought on “Day 11: My Bad Habits and Flaws

  1. Pingback: Day 14: This Upsets Me | Authorized to Ramble

Leave a Reply

