Day 08: 10 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me


Let’s keep this short and sweet.  I think it’s fun to share things with people — it gives you a foundation upon which you can build meaning friendships firmly rooted in sarcastic wit and an absurd amount of inside jokes. ;D

  1. Medical stuff:  Never a broken bone; still have my tonsils; wisdom teeth haven’t come out yet; and never had chicken pox (even though my sister had them!). *KNOCKS ON ALL THE WOOD*
  2. Also, found out I have a common allergy to sulfonamides the hard way.
  3. And I have scoliosis which sometimes makes my hips feel like a Thanksgiving Day turkey wishbone being torn in two pieces.
  4. I bite my nails when I’m stressed (especially when watching suspenseful movies!)
  5. My husband and I have been together almost 9 years but only married for just about 2 years (and I’ve known him since 7th grade).

    Gratuitous wedding photo.

  6. I’m really good at remembering faces and numbers.
  7. I have a dual-degree in Sociology (B.A.) and Urban Policy Studies (B.S.) but I do transportation policy research & analysis for a state DOT.
  8. I collect turtles.  But only pretty ones. xD
  9. I have a turtle toe-ring that I’ve been wearing since I was … 15.  Only taken it off twice; one time after my foot got run over by my friend’s grandma as she tried to adjust the front passenger seat in my friend’s Honda Civic 2-door.  Grandma sliced my toenail up nice and pretty and I had to take the ring off at the doctor’s office; second time I had to get it fixed since it was breaking.

    My toe is actually indented from this ring. >.>

  10. I used to suck my thumb as a kid.  I had a blankie and front-tooth gap, too.  When we were moving from Berea, OH to Atlanta, my dad found my blankie on top of the living room entertainment center; it was all dusty and gross.  And I was like >:| and my sister was like >.>
  11. BONUS: My husband & I have a strange term of endearment for each other: Turd Burglar. xD
2 thoughts on “Day 08: 10 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me

    • /highfive back atcha!

      I still remember my first telephone number — and how my mom made me recite it while she tied my shoes on the first day of kindergarten. I also remember that there was a kid I went to school with who had a similar number; his was 1 digit different than mine. :D

Leave a Reply

