Project 5×2: A Restoration/Balance Druid Perspective [Updated]


A couple weeks ago, Mat McCurley of WoWInsider sent out a call through Twitter for help with developing Project 5×2 where people offer the bare-bones necessities of a class or spec so that disabled WoW players (I would say everyone) can experience a better quality of life in the game. The main concept is breaking down a class or spec into 5 buttons with 1 modifier and a middle-mouse button.  The point (in my view) is to strip out all of the “extra” abilities and focus on what is actually necessary for playing the game well. This may be a rotation, important CC abilities, heals, whatever.  It’s all about getting the most out of a class/spec while maintaining a physically manageable set of buttons to press/click.

My Twitter frand, Cynwise, recently posted his take on Project 5×2 for warlocks and I was so impressed with his logic (#1 DoT as button 1!).  I was also excited to see a class I’m not familiar with broken down to simiplified terms.  I’m very much a TL;DR kind of person who gets lost amongst the rabble of EJ or even some class guides.  I’m not disabled, but I am finding the entire Project 5×2 immensely helpful for picking up a new class or spec.  @slowpoker has also been compiling links and 5×2 setups from around the ‘net and this listing can be found on her blog.

So I really started thinking about how would a Restoration or Balance Druid work in a Project 5×2 setup. I realized quickly that I kind of already use a 5×2 setup for my Druid.  She’s main spec Restoration and off spec Balance.  I use mouseover macros + raid frames to do my treealing* and a Razer Naga mouse with action bar buttons 1 through 12 keybound to the 1-12 buttons on the Naga.  My hands are I’d say medium-sized, but I have trouble reaching buttons 9-12 on my mouse, so I tend to keep my important spells bound to 1-8.  I also use a shift modifier for another set of 1-12 buttons, and an alt modifier for yet another set.  After reading Cynwise’s post and comparing his logic to my Druid, I realized I could probably reduce the 1-8 to 5 (and move around some of my shift modifiers to make room for the remaining 3 abilities).

[Update]: Thanks to Quorniya for pointing out my derp! I totally forgot to include Healing Touch, Nourish and Innervate.  Considering the amount I actually do use these spells AND the new Restoration Druid Mastery we will be getting with Patch 4.2, Healing Touch and Nourish will be even more important to have keybound.

Derptastic, indeed Liz.

Anyhoo, here’s a suggested Project 5×2 setup for Restoration and Balance Druids:

There is quite a list of clickable abilities for both specs, but most of those spells are situational in nature (damage abilities as a healer, heals as a DPS, etc) or could be provided by another class (CCs, buffs, etc).

How would you play a Resto/Balance Druid with only 5 buttons + middle mouse?  Tell me in the comments, or leave a comment on @slowpoker’s page about Project 5×2!

Peace!

*Tree + Healing = Treealing :3

13 thoughts on “Project 5×2: A Restoration/Balance Druid Perspective [Updated]

  1. I understand the logic behind binding ToL in your resto spec since it’s a resto cooldown now (this is me shaking my fist at Blizzard) and I understand binding moonkin form to the same combo for the same reason, but it seems like a button that would be better used for something else (if you’re in balance and you’re not in boomkin form all the time, you’re doing it wrong!)

    • I totally agree on the being in moonkin form. But! The reason I have it bound is because as a moonkin, healing will knock you out of moonkin form. I’ve always found myself tossing a rejuvenation or popping Tranquility while in my Balance spec, so I see it as necessary. Others who don’t heal at all will not and so I would recommend putting Entangling Roots in the Mod-1 slot and Cyclone in the Clickable Abilities slot vacated by Entangling Roots. MOAR CC.

      Thanks for commenting! :D

  2. Pingback: The Daily Quest: 5×2 | gQuit's WoWPress

  3. This is an awesome sounding project and I’m glad that you’re working on it from a caster druid’s perspective.

    That said, the resto druid setup doesn’t include a way to cast healing touch, nourish or innervate, which are must-haves for any resto druid running dungeons or raids at level 85. I would go so far as to ditch the dedicated buttons for thorns, nature’s grasp and probably even nature’s swiftness in favor of HT, nourish and innervate.

    • Very valid points! I actually can’t believe I forgot them. I’m going to update my 5×2 table to include them.

      Thanks for commenting! :)

    • Also! Considering the new mastery Resto druids are getting, it will be more important to bind HT and Nourish as they get the 10% boost from the mastery.

      >> Editing nao >>

      ;)

    • True.
      You could also Macro Nature’s swiftness into a HT button to make sure you get some utility out of it.

  4. I’m with you on using healing while in boomkin. I’m with you so much and i do it so regularly I’d probably take nature’s grasp off at a boomkin and put Tranq on there.

    Also since I have a warrior regularly with me when I’m on a 5 man I’d take off faerie fire as well and replace with a rejuv.

    So you’d have rejuv and tranq at hand for utility.

    Unfortunately the way wild mushroom works I’d think that would make it very hard to used if disabled. Sad since it’s such a big part of our AoE rotation, but can be somewhat made up for with tab/moonfire spam or just keeping single target dps on high value targets.

    • Wouldn’t it be great if Wild Mushroom were a “smart” AoE spell? You throw down 3 Wild Mushrooms and the server has counted those three, so the Wild Mushroom button then turns into Wild Mushroom: Detonate. Similar mechanics (I think?) work with Soul Swap (the changing spell button), so I’m wondering if that could be applied here.

      Also: Thanks for stopping by and commenting :)

  5. Pingback: The Daily Quest: 5x2

  6. Wow, I find this really intersting, but got me thinking… dont we have a diferent spell bar on caster form and moonkin form? Because with that in mind we have a full spell bar for new spells (like heals or some feral macro for dash/stampeding roar) and they will still match the 5×2 style…

    Anyway, great job, I really like this simple form of play and I wish there was an example for arena/bg spell bars like this, because I really use half of my keyboard to play those.

    • Good point! Maybe someone who plays Balance as their main spec will provide a 5×2 table for it.

      As for arenas.. Well my record is lasting 10 seconds. I am probably not the person to make a 5×2 for PVP play. :}

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  7. Pingback: UI Matters: Using Project 5×2 as Restoration | Authorized to Ramble

Leave a Reply

