The Quasi-Theorycrafter Wannabe


Yes, you read that correctly.  I am a wannbe quasi-theorycrafter.  Why “quasi”?  I was never really into math and therefore specifically pursued a post-secondary education designed to avoid math.

Enough excuses!  I’ve realized over the course of my WoW-playing that I really like the intricate details of the game’s mechanics — I enjoy figuring out gear upgrades and how balancing stats affects my characters. I’m beginning to understand the finer details of the hard work done by more experienced theorycrafters (like those guys at ElitistJerks.com).  I’m nowhere near well-versed enough to even have a conversation with a true theorycrafter (which is also why I am just a lurker on EJ!), but I can say I’m getting there.

Why do all this quasi-theorycrafting stuff?  It’s fun!  You get immediate results! :D

I wish I were able to take a new patch and figure out all the cool details about stats, but I’m not there yet.

What I hope to accomplish pretty soon is figuring out how stats impact my gear choices.  I’ve recently decided to make my priest my main character (even though a couple others have all the cool stuff like 280% flying, pets, max professions, etc) and I want to be able to completely understand how the class (and specs!) work.

She’s currently Shadow/Discipline spec and I have some experience in healing dungeons as Holy and battlegrounds as Discipline (which, by the way, is super fun!).  Maybe with the long weekend I will be able to try healing a dungeon as Disc.  We’ll see.

One thought on “The Quasi-Theorycrafter Wannabe

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Quasi-Theorycrafter Wannabe: -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

