Getting ready for Cataclsym


Now that I’ve gotten epic flying for the character that will be my main in Cataclysm, my in-game goals are shifting to getting prepared for the expansion and the upcoming leveling this character will do as well as preparing for my new worgen alt.  I hope to curb my alt-oholism in Cataclysm by sticking to 3 characters max: My shaman main, my worgen alt and a goblin alt.  I’m not very keen on the look of the goblins, so I’m not sure how much time I would spend playing one.  But then again, it’s too early to tell at this point.

With all of that said, I would like to be prepared as much as possible for leveling another couple of professions by making sure I have the mats needed.  Since I have several maxed-profession characters, it won’t be too difficult to gather materials.  The hardest part for me right now will be to stop playing my awesome shaman so that I can actually go farm those mats. /sigh

I’ve created a (brief) list of to-do items for this preparation task:

  1. Clear out guild bank of items that are unnecessary or can be easily re-farmed.  This would include low-level crafted items that have been in the guild bank for, like, a year. Disenchant that junk and move on. :)
  2. Organize the guild bank into the following tabs (if you don’t have many tabs, I would use the sections provided in the guild bank for delineating groups):  Crafting mats, Gear, Stuff (Quests, unique items that are not crafting or gear, scrolls but not enchants, etc), Potions
  3. Review professions in the WoWHead or MMO-Champion Cataclysm databases and save these as bookmarks (I would just bookmark the list of professions) for easy reference later on.

I also recommend reviewing the upcoming quests for the 78-85 zones if you plan on leveling through them to get an idea of the type of gear replacements you will be making.  Familiarizing (but not memorizing!) yourself with the quests and rewards can make planning upgrades a little easier.  It also may help you decide on which zone to go to — If you have a play-time constraint like I do, this is invaluable.  There’s little more frustrating that wandering around a zone trying to find quests when you have only 3 hours to play >.>

Of course, if you’re a little more neurotic, yet forgetful (like me), this draft list may be helpful: List of Quests in Vashj’ir and Mount Hyjal.  I like to plan things out in advance, but when it comes time to implement said plan, I will have forgotten the plan.  So, for me (and possibly you, too), the quests would still be a surprise. :)

Leave a Reply

