Marvin & the Dia-beetus


 

***This is a non-WoW post.  Not that I ever post anything really illuminating about World of Warcraft, but if you’d rather read something WoW-related, I suggest this or this or even this.***

My cat, Marvin, is diabetic.  For those that don’t know, this is really not that uncommon in domestic cats.  Considering that cats are actually a lot like humans, physiologically, it’s not that surprising.

We adopted Marvin in September 2009 and it’s been a roller-coaster of medical issues ever since.  But bless our hearts, we really love him.

Marvin was diagnosed with diabetes in February 2010 after we took him to the vet for excessively drinking water (among other indications).  The vet told us that in order to manage Marvin’s blood sugar, we would need to give him a shot of insulin twice a day.  That was when my heart and stomach tried to execute a Dancing with the Stars-style tango. I’m typically not squeamish about needles, but the thought of jamming a piece of metal into the skin of my beloved cat was very unnerving.  To give context to my freak-out:  I could definitely be vegetarian at the drop of a dime. The only thing that is stopping me is my husband. But that’s a story for another non-WoW post day.

So we began the treatment of injecting insulin twice a day and feeding twice a day, as prescribed by the vet. There have been a few times when I noticed that Mr. Crotchetypants was feeling a lot more obstinate than usual and my stress would skyrocket.  We went through several months of mopey-dopey, bite-your-hand/arm/whatever-loose-appendage-was-available mood swings.

He has neuropathy in both of his back legs, hence he sits (and practically walks) on his haunches.

I was talking to a co-worker one day about Marvin’s moodiness (and his lack of eating) and she suggested going to a new vet.  This co-worker is experienced with diabetic cats (she had one of her own at one time), so I took her advice like it was 80% off on Black Friday and ran with it.

Fast forward a few weeks:  We’ve been seeing the new vet since the beginning of October and he’s really great.  Unfortunately, the advice/directions given to us by the previous vet were just wrong. So Marvin’s blood sugar was very high — 712!  Cats typically run about 150-200, so you can imagine my stress level was pretty high as well.  After a week of hospitalization, Marvin’s blood sugar finally got back down to 164 and he has been feeling a lot better ever since.

The cat is now fat and sassy!

Leave a Reply

